Skip to content

My Highly Anticipated Movies

June 19, 2009

In my spare time I like to stalk the trailer section at hulu.com or apple.com, and when that no longer provides diversion I stalk my favorite actors on IMDB to see what I can look forward to. These are some of the movies I’ve been looking forward to for months — and none of them even have trailers out yet.

Youth in Revolt – I read this book recently, and immediately loved it. If you haven’t read it, do it, like now. Nick Twisp is a 14 year kid who is tired of being a virgin and when he falls in love with Sheeni Saunders, there are no lengths to which he won’t go to get her to do the deed with him (think faking his best friend’s death…his friend’s parents had a funeral and everything). It was freakin’ hilarious. The big screen adaptation stars Michael Cera as Nick Twisp, Steve Buscemi and Jean Smart as his trailer trash parents, Zach Galifianakis as Estelle’s boyfriend Jerry, and Justin Long as Sheeni’s pothead older brother. I am so psyched for this movie! Comes out October 30th.

The Lovely Bones – I also read this book, and it was also fantastic. A complete tearjerker, to be sure, but very captivating. Basically, the protagonist Susie is murdered and the story is told from the point of view of her ghost as she watches her family and her murderer. I might have to dig it out of my packed boxes of books for a reread.  The big screen adaptation stars Saoirse Ronan (that brat from Atonement), Mark Wahlberg, and Rachel Weisz. Oh! and Michael Imperioli, which I only mention because I’ve been watching The Sopranos on DVD for the last year, or so it feels (seriously, how long was that series??).  Directed by Peter Jackson, I have high hopes for this one. Release date is sometime this year.

The Baster – Jason Bateman and Jennifer Aniston are best friends. When 40-year old Aniston decides she wants a baby she opts to use a turkey baster to get pregnant. Only thing, Jason Bateman switched the “sample” for one of his own. Dum dum dum. Spoiler alert – She’s going to be piiiiissssed! Release date is 2010.

The Invention of Lying – I pretty much worship the ground Ricky Gervais walks on, so throw in Jonah Hill, Jason Bateman, Jeffrey Tambor, Christopher Guest, Tina Fey, Martin Starr, Louis C.K., Nate Corddry, Stephen Merchant, and orange-head Karl Pilkington and I’m sold. You don’t even have to have a plot, maybe just have them stand around talking for two hours.  Even better, there is an actual plot, in which there exists a world in which no one lies, until one person decides to start taking advantage of lying for personal gain.  Release date is September of this year, so hopefully there will be a trailer out in late July or August. Maybe attached to Funny People?

Fantastic Mr. Fox – One of the lesser known stories of Roald Dahl (and if you don’t know who that is, then I just feel sorry for your childhood), Fantastic Mr. Fox is being adapted by Wes Anderson and stars George Clooney, Owen Wilson, Meryl Streep, Bill Murray, Jason Schwartzman, and Angelica Huston, or your Typical Wes Anderson Cast. This one is actually stop- animated, as it deals with farmers who get tired of losing chickens to a fox. Normally I detest stop-motion animation, but I’m willing to give this one a chance. Release date is November 2009.

Alice in Wonderland – Finally, someone has decided to do justice to the trippy nightmare that Lewis Carroll concocted and that someone is Tim Burton. I don’t recognize the actress cast as Alice, but Johnny Depp will be the Mad Hatter, Anne Hathaway is the White Queen, and Helena Bonham Carter is The Red Queen.  Michael Sheen will follow up his excellent work in Frost/Nixon as The White Rabbit (by the way, why the fuck is he cast in the Twilight sequel New Moon?) and Crispin Glover will play the Knave of Hearts. I’m creeped out already! Release date as of now is March 5, 2010.

Date Night – I have no idea what this movie is about, other than a date night, but it stars Steve Carrell and Tina Fey as a married couple. Release date is 2010.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part I – I know, I know. Half Blood Prince isn’t out yet. Well, it should have been released last year. I’m still upset about that. I think this is going to be the darkest of the Harry Potter movies so far- I even saw someone suggest it might get an R rating. Which really, won’t happen, but I can still hope. There will be plenty of violence, I’m sure. November 2010.

Arrested Development – Rumored and talked about for years, I don’t know if this will ever happen. Supposedly everyone is on board. Has a script been written? Shooting been talked about? No idea. IMDB says it’ll come out in 2010, but I think that’s wishful thinking. 2011 at the earliest.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

