Skip to content

March Album Review

April 20, 2009

Ok, I realize I’ve been extremely negligent in keeping up this blog, and I have no explanation. So three weeks late, a review of what I listened to in March.

thefrayThe Fray – Overall, I enjoyed this album.  To be quite honest, it sounded a lot like their first album. After awhile Isaac Slade’s voice and the piano melodies – it all starts to sound the same.  It’s a sound I like listening to, but in the future I’d like to see what else they can do. Rating: 2.5

Psychocandy – Jesus and Mary Chain This album was a gripping statement about the state of commercial music in….ok, I didn’t listen to this album. I tried. I did. It was a lot of feedback and noise. And I had a slight headphone crisis with my mp3 player, so whatever. I’m sliding this one out of position and in it’s place slotting in:

kelly-clarkson-all-i-ever-wantedAll I Ever Wanted – Kelly Clarkson Yes! This album rocked it.  16 tracks of pop deliciousness. I really have been listening to it nonstop for about a month now. The great thing about Kelly Clarkson is that she can actually sing, unlike a number of other pop stars (cough, Britney,cough).  There are probably 6 or 7 tracks I could see being successful singles, and most of them are pretty radio friendly. Right now my favorite is “Already Gone” but “Don’t Let Me Stop You” and “All I Ever Wanted” are close behind. There’s a pretty good range of songs and styles. My only complaint is the ballad is pretty syrupy, but I don’t think I’ll have to hear it on the radio ad nauseum, so for now I’ll just hit skip. Rating: 4

Rating system:

5- I love it! Bury me with this album.

4- I like it! Will be joining my Top 25 Most Played on iTunes.

3- It was good. I will only be listening to this because music critics tell me I should, or I will be listening to this repeatedly even though music critics tell me I shouldn’t.

2- Meh. Can you resell digital music?

1- Craptastic. On par with most actor-turned-musician releases.

For April, which is now mostly over, I’ve been listening to Stand! by Sly and the Family Stone and for my newerish music, Forfeit/Fortune by Crooked Fingers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

