Skip to content

Cool Things To Do With Your Photos

February 22, 2009

Cabo tilt shiftPhotoshop fun only lasts so long if you don’t really know what you’re doing with it, like me.  I’ve found some cool web apps that are fun to mess around with. The first is Tiltshiftmaker.com. Basically, tilt shift photography is messing around with your lens (tilting and shifting) to control the perspective. The app at the website is for post-processing, obviously, and it makes your photos look like miniatures. This is an actual photo I took in Cabo San Lucas, and now it looks like a mini diorama.

Poladroid is something I found out about through Stumble and then I had to wait for what seemed like forever for the Windows version to be released. It seems crazy that a technology that was commonplace when I was a child is pretty much extinct. If I remember hearing correctly, they’re no longer making polaroid film. I remember my grandfather taking polaroids all the time. I’m not sure what it was about their film formula that gave that distinctive weird color/seventies vibe. Maybe it was the crappy flash on the cameras. Anyway, now you can recreate the same thing for your digital photos.

megans-picts-017-poladsc00835-pola1

Mosaic maker isn’t all that exciting but I really only wanted to show off the first eight picture I took for Project 365.

project-365-days-1-8

From top left:

1. Kind of an oh-shit-I’m-running-out-of-daylight photo because I nearly forgot to take one on Monday, but this is my living room. The couch I got off Craigslist for a great price, but it collects cat hair like it’s going to make a sweater out of it. I really love the way it’s decorated right now and I’ll be sad to move because I don’t think it’s often you find such great space. Part of the reason I wanted to do this project was because the memory part appealed to me. I spent something like 8 years in the house where I grew up and I can’t hardly remember anything about it. I remember the peach colored kitchen and the stairs down to the basement…the box elder bugs on the tree the backyard.  Most everything else is from the photos that managed to survive. So, ten years from now I’ll be able to look back and fuzzily remember my sweet LA digs.

2. I actually forgot about that plant for two months and it didn’t completely die.

3. The view upwards from the bus stop in Westwood. It’s dizzying. A great way to end every day at grad school.

4. Some random building art I saw somewhere in L.A.

5. A mini rose that I bought for $3 at Trader Joe’s.  It’s managed to survive attacks by both cats.

6. The view from the top floor of my building, at night. This was a long exposure, I think 20 or 30 seconds. I’d never actually been to the top floor until the other night. The view from the other side is even better (wait).

7. My absolute favorite house in L.A. They’ve got some 20 statues of David lined up around the front of their house with white ornate gating around the whole thing. It’s the tackiest thing I’ve seen. I really considered getting photos taken in front of it and sending them out as Christmas cards.

8. Dr. Seussian tree in bloom that I saw on my way back from the grocery store. I got an unbelievable amount of food for $6.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 23, 2009 9:50 am

    Ooh, thanks for the tiltshiftmaker link.
    P.S. Love the new layout!

Leave a Reply

