Skip to content

January Album Review

February 5, 2009

As part of my initiative to start listening to more new music, I picked up two new albums for the month of January:

Dear Science by TV on the Radio – So according to Spin magazine this was the best album of 2008, and I had never heard a single word about it.  For that matter I’ve never heard of TV on the Radio even though I guess this is their fourth LP. But that’s not my fault! The only indie station in LA got canned and now they only play mariachi music. Anyway, I don’t know how many times I listened to this album — enough. It’s like…my head is a giant sieve and this thing went through like powdered sugar. I couldn’t recall a single melody if you asked. I guess I should mention that I usually listen to music when I’m walking to the bus stop or around campus, or riding the bus. I also read on the bus, so there’s a lot of multitasking and not so much of what you’d call ‘active listening’.  But I’m a firm believer in not banging ones head against the wall in an effort to like something that you just don’t like (works for books and boys as well). Rating: 2

The Velvet Underground & Nico – The debut album of the Velvet Underground, released in 1967. Andy Warhol was their manager and Nico sings on a few tracks.  All albums are of a time and a place (good ones anyway) and this album is of the 60s and the place is drugs. Lots of drugs, and specifically heroin. I guess I don’t really have any good life experiences to compare to getting antsy waiting on the corner for your drug dealer to show up.  “Sunday Morning” was probably my favorite track. It’s worth a listen to hear Nico’s creepy asexual voice and to hear an album that was to become a major influence on rock and roll. Rating: 3

Rating system:

5- I love it! Bury me with this album.

4- I like it! Will be joining my Top 25 Most Played on iTunes.

3- It was good. I will only be listening to this because music critics tell me I should, or I will be listening to this repeatedly even though music critics tell me I shouldn’t.

2- Meh. Can you resell digital music?

1- Craptastic. On par with most actor-turned-musician releases.

Up for February: In the Wee Small Hours by Frank Sinatra (what better for Valentine’s Day and the dreariness of the dead of winter to listen to an entire album of ballads about heartbreak?) and Only by the Night by Kings of Leon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

