Skip to content

O is for Oblivious

November 6, 2008

The Offspring

6th grade was the first year of middle school for me. I went to a school in downtown Denver, along with about 1/3 of the people I had known in elementary school. I made a new best friend while I was there that one year and at some point in time my old circle of friends and new friends collided.  Fast forward to a birthday party at an old friend’s house, which I and the new friends attended, jumping on the trampoline in the backyard, listening to “Pretty Fly For a White Guy.”  Everybody was singing along to every word and I had no effing clue what song this was. I suddenly realized that somehow my old friends and new friends had bridged the gap and no longer needed me around. It was a sad moment, but luckily it ended up not mattering much as we moved a year later and I started over again anyway.

Since then The Offspring has put out a steady stream of good singles.  I saw them at the Warped Tour once and almost died in their crowd. I swear, I think half the fun of Warped Tour is the adrenaline rush you get from realizing you could have been trampled to death in a riot. Or maybe trampled somebody else.

Since wordpress has a nifty new feature, I’m testing it out. What is your favorite Offspring song?

Here’s mine:

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    November 6, 2008 1:23 pm

    Voted for The Kids Aren’t Alright but I think I like Gone Away better.

Leave a Reply

