Skip to content

N is for Novelty

November 2, 2008

New Found Glory
The best thing about New Found Glory is their two albums of movie soundtrack covers, most notably because they take soft rock anthems like “My Heart Will Go On” and “Everything I Do (I Do It For You)” and make them listenable.  The songs on From the Screen to Your Stereo vol. 1 and 2 were featured in the following movies:

That Thing you Do!, The NeverEnding Story, Armageddon, The Goonies, The Karate Kid Part II (!), Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, Titanic, She’s All That, Walk the Line, Napoleon Dynamite, Pretty Woman, Reality Bites, Romeo + Juliet, City of Angels, The Breakfast Club, Vision Quest, Donnie Darko and Dirty Dancing.

As you can imagine, there’s some sap.  But- I actually like this song from Pretty Woman, which is the worst movie ever. First off, Richard Gere picked her up as a hooker “accidentally” and then decided to keep her.  Secondly, (I know it’s not a word Mrs. O’Connell!) he treated her like complete crap, and had to give her a makeover to make her presentable to his peers. Nice. Lastly, Julia Roberts got nominated for an Oscar! An OSCAR for this role. I don’t get it. Maybe if I become a prostitute I’ll find true love too.  It’s probably the only way I’ll ever get to go shopping on Rodeo Dr.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

