Skip to content

Year 2: What was I thinking? Or, The Summer of My Under-employment

September 24, 2008

Tomorrow marks the first official day of class at UCLA, and the first day of the last year of classes I will ever take. EVER. I think I said “last classes ever!” in high school, and then again in college, but I mean it this time. I don’t actually have class until Friday, so tomorrow will be spent doing what I have been doing all summer. A whole lot of nothing. See, I’m still advisor-less and more or less lab-less, and it’s hard to start meaningful, exciting research when you don’t have anyone really concerned about what you’re doing.  I spent all of today going through online image archives and finding, out of hundreds of scans, all the thin slice CT scans of the chest. And then copying all the information about them into an Excel spreadsheet. All day. Besides bleeding from the eyes, I think I’m developing some kind of repetitive stress injury in my Ctrl + C fingers. Now I know this isn’t research, and the guy who told me to do it described it first and foremost as ‘boring’, but peeps, I don’t know how much more of this I can take. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about The Future and trying to decide whether it includes me staying here for another 4 years.  The honest answer to that is probably not, but I’m a stubborn you-know-what and I’ve never quit anything without good reason, besides my job at Cousins Subs, and I felt that “I don’t want to smell like meat anymore” was a good enough reason.

I know I haven’t blogged much this summer, and it’s really just the result of a smothering ennui that settled in about the time I got back from Colorado. But hopefully now that fall is here, with the arrival of football, classes, and new tv, things will get back on track.

Speaking of new tv, is anyone having trouble keeping up with all their shows? I mean, I had to write my schedule down on a piece of paper! Not having a DVR is seriously crimping my lifestyle. Luckily hulu.com has got most of it covered, and by the way if you’ve been living in some kind of cave without wireless and don’t know about Hulu, then you need to get yourself over there. The schedule, as of now:

Sunday: Football, True Blood, Dexter
Monday: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles, Chuck
Tuesday: House, Fringe, The Biggest Loser
Wednesday: Project Runway, Pushing Daisies
Thursday: My Name is Earl, 30 Rock, The Office, It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia
Midseason: Reaper

I don’t know how I keep up with it, but somehow I persevere.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

