Skip to content

Summer Movie Preview

May 16, 2008

I’ve traded the ice cream for popsicles, final exams are being taken, and I’ve been dreaming of Mexico, which can only mean one thing: summer is upon us. It was over 90 degrees today in Los Angeles, and I’ve been hiding in the dark cave of air conditioning that is my bedroom. Unfortunately, I can only entertain myself in here for so long. Eventually I’ll have to trade in my apartment for the cineplex. A preview of the coming blockbusters, thrillers, and summer comedies:

The Heros

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (May 22)

Easily the most anticipated movie of the summer. I’ve been staring at the billboard from my window for nearly a month now. The big question obviously is whether Harrison Ford is going to kick ass or make us cringe in anticipation of a broken hip. I know they waited this long to make another movie because they wanted the story to be good, but part of me wonders if Spielberg just said “F&$@ it. Let’s just do it. I got nothing else.” Part of me wonders too about casting Shia LeBoeuf in the movie. The kid can be awesome, but it just seems…off to me.

Dark Knight (July 18 )

I’ve been looking forward to this movie since the moment I walked out of Batman Begins. Based on the trailer, I’d say this is going to be the best movie of the summer. Heath Ledger as the Joker looks to be legendary, and my only complaint about the first movie, Katie Holmes, has been taken care of, with Maggie Gyllenhaal taking over the character.

Hancock (July 2)

Hancock plays on the idea I think they were trying to get across with Venom in Spiderman 3, that of the superhero who just doesn’t care. Spiderman 3 ultimately failed with that, I think (see emo Peter Parker) but Hancock seems to have the potential to be interesting. Toss in Jason Bateman and 4th of July weekend, some explosions and special effects, and it’s a pretty good bet I’ll be there.

The Incredible Hulk (June 13)

Aside from perpetuating radiation-induced superhuman power myths, I’m not sure what this film is trying to accomplish. Wasn’t the last Hulk movie an abysmal disappointment? I do enjoy watching Edward Norton, so I suppose I’ll wait for the reviews before I make up my mind. Based on the trailer, I say meh. Like Iron Man without the fancy gadgets.

The Chick Flicks

Sex and the City (May 30)

I have to say, I thought the series finale was pretty good. Carrie ended up with Mr. Big, Charlotte got to adopt a baby, Miranda…what happened to Miranda?, and Samantha got to keep hooking up with Smith. So happy endings all around. I can’t help thinking though that the producers felt a little guilty for giving the fans the fairy tale ending. Hence, the movie, where we find out that maybe Carrie and Mr. Big don’t really end up together after all. Life’s not a fairy tale, kids! And yet somehow, I think it will be.

Mamma Mia! ( July 18 )

Colin Firth dancing and singing ABBA? Done. I’m there.

The Comedies

Get Smart (June 20)

Whether this is 40 Year Old Virgin or Dan in Real Life caliber Steve Carell work I can’t tell. The poster certainly seems to be a rip off of 40 YOV.

The Rocker (August 1)

Superbad meets School of Rock. It even has the same love interest as Superbad. All I know is, it’s a good long 4 months until the premiere of the Office, and this will have to do.

It looks like Hollywood has found a winning movie poster.

Pineapple Express (August 8 )

Plot ideas for Seth Rogen’s next movie: Seth plays a pothead who is also a superhero. Seth plays a pothead in a musical set to the music of David Bowie. Seth plays a pothead who gets into Harvard Law. Seth plays a pothead who….well you get the idea.

The House Bunny (August 22)

Despite the obvious things stacked (pun intended) against this movie (yes! she’s going to make over the ugly girls in glasses!), I think I’ll probably see it. Anna Faris is usually pretty funny. And last time I saw Colin Hanks in anything, it was Orange County (which reminds me, I’ve got to start my summer Roswell marathon).

Wild cards: Step Brothers (July 25), Tropic Thunder (August 15)

Horror (or just Horrible)

The Strangers (May 30)

Supposedly this is based on true events, but no one seems to able to identify which true events. A comment by someone who had seen a screening mentioned that the entire audience was screaming at parts. So, I will not be seeing this, but it looks damn scary. I couldn’t even watch the trailer again.

The Happening ( June 13)

I can’t wait to see what it is. I hope it’s the rapture.

Don’t Mess with the Zohan (June 6)

I watched the trailer for this with a mixture of horror and disbelief. Who greenlighted this script? Who wrote this script? I can’t imagine this being anything less than abysmal. I saw a poster for the movie on a bus the other day, of Adam Sandler doing the splits and holding hair dryers as weapons. I stared into his eyes, and saw sadness.

The Love Guru (June 20)

Are you serious?

That about wraps it up. I know I left a few off the list, including Iron Man, which I’ve already seen, and Speed Racer, which I can’t look at without seizing, and Prince Caspian, about which I am so ambivalent I can’t even think of anything to say.

Happy movie watching! Don’t forget the Junior Mints πŸ˜‰

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2008 2:04 pm

    I know they waited this long to make another movie because they wanted the story to be good
    >> Even if it mat seem a little bit too long for Indy’s fans, i really prefer to watch a good story rather than a faster episode made from an average scenario.

    Quality requires patience.

    I’m going to watch this film tomorrow afternoon.

    See you,
    b.

  2. June 18, 2008 7:56 pm

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation πŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Commonly.

Leave a Reply

