Skip to content

Michael C. Hall is way cooler than Anthony Michael Hall

February 2, 2008

Netflix may be my downfall. Or no, I take that back. TV on DVD may be my downfall. I’ve been making up for all those years (since I left my sweet parent’s house) that I’ve been without HBO or Showtime. Besides having made it through Freaks and Geeks, which I actually did watch when it was on, I’ve been watching Six Feet Under. I’m about a third of the way through season 2. And it’s not like it’s super good or anything (On a scale of 1 to The Office, it’s like a 7), but it is well written and acted. And oh yeah, Michael C. Hall rocks my sox.

davidfisher.jpg

He’s a funeral home director, he actively attends church, and he’s gay. I don’t know what it is. So I decided to watch Dexter, which stars Michael C. Hall as a serial killer who is also a forensics expert in blood for the Miami PD (I wonder why he knows how all the blood splatters like that?). I watched the entire series in the course of one weekend, which I emphatically do NOT recommend doing. There was a whole over arcing story plot that I wanted to see resolved, so I kept watching, but man that was a lot of chopping up of bodies. A lot of blood everywhere…a lot of blood. To be honest, I was pretty strung out at the end of it, and actually took a pair of scissors with me to venture out to the kitchen because in my daze I failed to notice that it had gotten dark. And then I freaked out later in the parking garage when some dude parked by me and then followed me out. I mean, duh, he was going to his apartment but still. He’s lucky I didn’t have the scissors cause I maybe would have preemptively stabbed him.

dexter.jpg

The series does raise some interesting questions though. Is killing people always wrong? What if they’ve done bad things and deserve to die? Does Dexter himself deserve to die for the bad things he’s done? Are killers made or born? Is Dexter really ’empty’ inside as he proclaims to be? Once a killer always a killer?

One thing is clear: I am attracted to the wrong men.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2008 9:40 am

    I agree with all the questions that “Dexter” raises and I scare myself with the answers!

  2. February 6, 2008 6:15 pm

    I´ve never seen anything like it. No doubt, it´s the best show ever, I love the characters, photography, music, stories… absolutely perfect! Not even the best movies about serial killers could portrait one the way Dexter does. Maybe it has to do with the original book or the fact that no movie has Michael C Hall as its actor… Anyway, hope it´s doing well and it lasts as long as it should, not like some shows that should have ended seasons ago.
    I´m a truly Dexter fan.

  3. clare permalink
    February 8, 2008 6:16 am

    i’m with you. it’s scary how much we love dexter when we watch the show, and you pretty much want him to keep doing what he’s doing, despite the obvious double-standard in it. i also watched the dvd on tv over one weekend, and even found myself at the point where i wanted so badly for rudy to tell dexter that he was the killer so they could be best buddies and dexter wouldn’t be lonely. lol.

    and i also agree with you after reading what i just typed…it’s clear that i’m also attracted to the wrong men.

    haha. keep up the great blog.

  4. tracy permalink
    February 8, 2008 6:34 am

    I have to agree that Dexter is the best show on tv or anywhere. i think it’s largely b/c of Michael C. Hall- althought the other characters are great as well.
    God help me i’ve had several dreams about him and i never do that! Guess i’m star struck.
    I hope Dexter gets what he deserves- an emmy – should have received it this year. MCH should be on the cover of that insipid People magazine. He is sexiest man alive.

  5. February 11, 2008 1:31 pm

    Dexter is a great show!

    Michael C Hall is awesome!!!

  6. Anna permalink
    July 23, 2008 7:33 pm

    There is no doubt that Michael C. Hall is the reason for the success of this show – I can’t imagine anyone else playing him. I’d never seen this actor before, so he just IS Dexter to me. I like Dexter, despite his extracurricular activities – it’s weird and creepy and definitely a guilty pleasure but I can’t get enough of Dexter.

  7. chelsea . permalink
    November 15, 2008 2:26 am

    it’s terrible how much i’m attracted to a serial killer!
    Dexter, is without a doubt, the best show ever.
    Michael C. Hall is a fucking god.

  8. Shawna permalink
    February 9, 2011 12:02 am

    I feel your pain sister. I dot k ow what it is about Michael hall that is so intriguing but it’s like, I can’t stop watching him. I love all his characters and the way he acts. You should check out his broadway stuff.

  9. Nadiyah permalink
    July 15, 2011 10:12 pm

    What it is is, the man can act his butt off. On SFU he plays a very gay, very repressed funeral director whose moments of vulnerability and adorableness are so endearing that you want to take him home and take care of him and cure his loneliness, then in the same show he can be so mean and insensitive that you want to slap him and make him come to his senses.

    On Dexter he’s a manly hunk and has achieved yet another level of believability as this new character who is a Jekyll and Hyde type. His mannerisms are almost totally different from David Fisher’s, but are no less endearing in their charm, even when he’s dispatching someone. I think it’s his always evolving, genuine desire to connect with the human race despite his urges to kill bad guys that resonates with me. Not to mention he looks really good with his shirt off and his butts not bad either, ( he could some work on those skinny legs though. Nothing a few squats or some tennis couldn’t help) JMO.

Leave a Reply

