Skip to content

There Will Be Blood

January 24, 2008

A friend of mine saw There Will Be Blood a couple weeks ago, and when I asked her how it was, she couldn’t tell me. “I just….I don’t even know what to say about it. I can’t describe it.” Needless to say, I had to see this movie. If it hadn’t been nominated for Best Picture, I probably wouldn’t have been so eager to see it, but I’m trying to get around to all the nominees so I can be righteously indignant when they inevitably give the award to the wrong picture. Anyway, I went yesterday despite the rain and well….I don’t know what to say.

Ok, well that’s a lie, I can say something. You know the first time you saw Fight Club and when it was over, your mind was just spinning? After Blood was over, I just sat there, with the feeling that I had been completely mindfucked, but I wasn’t sure why. I will tell you one thing: Daniel Day-Lewis is brilliant. And terribly, terribly frightening. If I saw him on the street, I would probably run.

therewillbeblood-3.jpg

Paul Dano was also excellent. I can say that the themes were greed, religion and morality….and as for the rest, I don’t know.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

