Skip to content

Freaky Dinosaurs

November 15, 2007

I spent a lot of time on the bus. A lot. On the plus side, I didn’t even fill up my car once in October. On the negative side, I encounter about four times the amount of crazy people that the average person encounters every month in a single day. Luckily, I figured out what I suspect NY subway riders and other large city public transportation users have long known- don’t make eye contact and appear busy at all costs and the crazies disappear. I have a ridiculous number of podcasts downloaded on iTunes and a pile of books to be read. I’ve currently got A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson littering my backpack and I pick it up when I don’t feel like I’m about to fall asleep, which is often.

First off, it’s a really fantastic read, and I’m not just saying that because I’m a geeky scientist; it’s funny, informative and thorough without being pedantic. Today I was reading the chapter about the ice ages when I read this disturbing little tidbit:

The British geologist Stephen Drury notes that forests within 10 degrees latitude of the North Pole were home to great beasts, including Tyrannosaurus rex. “That is bizarre,” he writes, “for such a high latitude is continually dark for three months of the year.” Moreover, there is now evidence that these high latitudes suffered severe winters. Oxygen isotope studies suggest that the climate around Fairbanks, Alaska, was about the same in the late Cretaceous period as it is now. So what was Tyrannosaurus doing there? Either it migrated seasonally over enormous distances or it spent much of the year in snowdrifts in the dark (432).

Dinosaurs living in the dark, surrounded by snow drifts??? That’s the second scariest thing I’ve ever heard. There’s something so dark and isolating about a snowy night. Oh, look at that tree all covered in snow. How pretty. Oh no, wait that’s a T-Rex! Now that should have been the sequel to Jurassic Park. Cretaceous Ski Park.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Travis permalink
    November 15, 2007 10:12 pm

    Are you dead fucking serious?!?!?! T-Rex in the snowy abyss? That’s blowing my mind right now! I gotta go buy that book apparently.

  2. mike permalink
    November 28, 2007 9:06 pm

    It took a while, but I tracked it down…

Leave a Reply

