Skip to content

Strike

November 1, 2007

I was going to write about how you all should be watching Chuck, because I like Chuck, and if more people don’t start watching it it’s going to get canceled, but it may not even matter because apparently there’s a writer’s strike in Hollywood (I wonder if they’ll picket? Will I see writers wandering the streets tomorrow? What will they look like?). Normally, I don’t care what the writers do as long as they keep producing the funny. But this is bad news. We could seriously be facing nothing but reality programming and news magazines (I mean, Stone Phillips could get more air time). And other shows that require no writing are safe…I guess CBS won’t be affected.

Why is it that so many shows I like get canceled? I can only assume it’s because the general public has no taste. Witness:

  • Roswell
  • The Loop
  • Freaks and Geeks
  • Arrested Development
  • Andy Richter Controls the Universe

Incidentally, I’m almost done watching Freaks and Geeks on DVD, and I love it even more than when it was first on TV. I understand completely why it got canceled. It was too real. High school was a painful, awkward, confusing time, and F & G portrays that beautifully. Problem is, nobody wants to really revisit that. I’m a fan of awkwardness, but there are several moments I can’t even watch. When Nick (Jason Segel) starts dating Lindsey (Linda Cardellini) and decides to tell her how he feels by serenading her with “Lady” by Styx is one of those moments. It’s frightening.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

