Skip to content

NaNoWriMo

October 29, 2007

November is National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo. Basically, the idea is that you spend one month writing a novel. It doesn’t matter if it’s complete crap, or if it even has correct grammar, the goal is to get 50,000 words (about 175 pages) down on paper (Word document). I’m not even going to lie, between school and my tv schedule, I still have free time. Not a lot, but I figure if I cut out all the extra naps, superfluous interneting, and the sitting and staring, I could do this. I know I’ve seen this book on the shelf at Borders, and it was written during NaNoWriMo, so it can’t be that hard. So I need some help peeps: I need plot lines. Story ideas. Brit suggested I write a novel about Medical Physicists, but I don’t think I’d do well with the horror genre.

Ideas as of now:

  • A murder mystery: Miss Scarlet in the library with the candlestick. Oh wait. Did I give it away already?
  • A novelization of the movie Tremors
  • Scene: A deserted island. Scenario: A plane full of English school boys goes down and the survivors must create their own society. But something lurks on the other side of the island.
  • Scene: A deserted island. Scenario: A family on their way to the new world gets shipwrecked while trying to evade pirates. They find bountiful supplies on the lush tropical island they land on, and remarkably, a girl the same age as their strapping teenage sons.
  • Scene: A deserted island. Scenario: A trio of travelers in Thailand find a map to a secluded beach. Upon arrival they find a group of people have created their own society in the tropical paradise. Trouble arises when they piss off the pot farmers on the other side of the island.
  • Scene: A deserted island. Scenario: A man and two young children, a girl and a boy are shipwrecked on the island. The man dies and the children raise themselves on the island, eventually falling in love and having a child, and wearing virtually no clothing.

What do you think? Help me out, guys!

UPDATE: Funny story, so I go into the forums on NaNoWriMo to check out the Adopt a Plot thread (basically use someone else’s idea) and the first plot I read was ON A DESERTED ISLAND.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aren permalink
    October 30, 2007 7:39 pm

    Hey, not a bad start… but I’m afraid you’ve described: Lord of the Flies, The Swiss Family Robinson, The Beach, and The Blue Lagoon. How about this… Scene: A deserted island. Scenario: A Fed-Ex employee is stranded after a plane crash. He maintains his sanity by befriending a volleyball… maybe give the ball a funny name.

  2. meg2885 permalink*
    October 30, 2007 8:36 pm

    Damn! I knew there was a desert island movie I had forgotten. Thanks 🙂

  3. Travis permalink
    October 30, 2007 8:58 pm

    Come on, I was waiting for a Lost reference in there too.

  4. Marva permalink
    November 1, 2007 8:58 pm

    Scene: A deserted island. Scenario: An orphan with a treasure map attempts to find the treasure with the entire cast of The Muppet Show. Once there, Tim Curry reveals that he is an evil pirate captain bent on killing Kermit, Miss Piggy, and the others, and keeping the treasure to himself.

    Scene: A deserted island. Scenario: Harrison Ford and Anne Heche crash there and do not get along for some reason, while evading people who want to kill them… for some reason.

    Scene: A deserted island. Scenario: Gina Davis uses her dead pirate captain father’s scalp to find a treasure, while demonstrating strong female character.

Leave a Reply

