Skip to content

Back to Business

October 1, 2007

Now that I’ve officially completed my third day of grad school, and have actual real deadlines of things to do, it’s time to get back to doing what I do best: procrastinating. Where shall I begin? So many crazy and exciting things have happened in the last week.

Monday: Brit, Drew, Marva, and I went to I.O. West again to see The Armando Show and Inside the Improviser’s Studio, starring Andy Richter. It was a hilarious show. Andy talked a lot about doing Conan and the various tv shows he’s had that have been canceled. Andy Richter Controls the Universe was hilarious, though. I was also reminded of his cameo on Arrested Development where he appears as himself and his five brothers.

Wednesday: After driving all the way to Sherman Oaks on Monday to get a haircut at the Paul Mitchell school (because it’s cheap, and I’m poor) only to discover that they don’t cut hair on Mondays, I returned on Wednesday with an appointment and the determination to finally do something different to my hair. On a side note, the school is located in Sherman Oaks, in the Valley. I was driving there, listening to “Free Fallin'” by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, singing along, “All the vampires walkin’ through the valley/Move west down Ventura Boulevard” when I looked up and realized I was driving west on Ventura Blvd. Whoa, dude. So anyway, I get there and check-in for my appointment, right when I remember that I forgot to make an appointment with a Phase II student (the ones who know what they’re doing) as opposed to a Phase I student. Apparently, Phase II students don’t cut hair on Wednesday. I figured next they were going to tell me they only do shampoos on Thursdays. As the other clients filtered in for their appointments and all the students got back from lunch, a petite brunette student, clearly distraught, goes up to the front desk to declare loudly, “My phone got flushed down the toilet.” “What?” said the front desk guy. “What happened?” “I was texting, and it fell in. Then it got flushed.” To which, thank god, another student-worker raised the important question, “Why did you flush the toilet?” I did not hear her reply however, as the blood was rushing to my head caused by the overwhelming panic that I was about to let these people not only cut but dye my hair. That’s not even the best part though. She finally found a manager or a supervisor, to tell him what happened, and then demanded that he get her phone back. “What do you want me to do about it?” he asked. “Well you know, go into the plumbing and get it! There has to be some kind of system right??” He suggested she just stick her arm down there and get it, which she balked at. He just laughed and told her that her phone was probably already on the way to the ocean.

Despite all this, I managed to get a decent cut, though it took 3 hours. It looks not all that different than other hair cuts I’ve had before, but shorter. I have a before picture, and I’ll take an after picture some other day when my hair looks better than today.

Thursday: My first day of real classes, I was walking to the bus stop, when Danny Bonaduce walked right by me. My first thought was, “Holy crap! That’s Danny Bonaduce!” My second thought was, “I hope he doesn’t live over here.”

Thursday night was the premiere of The Office, of course. Brit and Drew came over and brought all kinds of delicious food with them. Good tv, good food, good friends, it doesn’t really get better than that.

Saturday: Marva asked Brit and I to be in her student film, because all the real actors bailed on her, and we spent all day filming. Marva seems to be pretty pleased with how things went, despite the fact that Brit and I have zero acting experience between the two of us, and generally cracked up at every opportunity.

Sunday: I was going to bail on the Broncos game because I knew it was going to be an “L” for my team, but I decided to stick it out, and I headed over to Busby’s to watch the game. I was wearing my orange Broncos T, which I wear every Sunday in a show of solidarity. Some guy in sweats and a ratty t-shirt, and graying curly hair turned to me as I was walking in and said, “Hey, there’s a Broncos fan.” I smiled at him, and then I looked at him, and realized it was Norm MacDonald. Unkempt, but it was definitely him. He had that mischievous glint in his eyes. I had confirmation from an independent source (Mallory, fellow Broncos fan) that it was “definitely” him. So, good choice going to the bar, even though Peyton slaughtered us, and I was getting so angry at the stupid Raiders fan who kept heckling us every time Indy scored (which was a lot, by the way) that I was about to deck him. Being a Raiders fan, and clearly delusional, he kept trying to tell us that the Raiders beat the Broncos a few weeks ago. Sorry buddy, we called a time out before that field goal and you know it. It’s not our fault Janikowski can’t repeat. Awhile ago my Dad said, “The Raiders deserve to lose, forever.” I see now that he was correct.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 1, 2007 6:02 pm

    Hey, did Norm have a beard? I’ve heard stories that he now looks like Santa Claus. I run the Norm fan site. Wondered what’s going on with him. drop me a line at mail@normnews.com.

Leave a Reply

